Home Forums Chat Forum Any ex Software Engineers?

Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Any ex Software Engineers?
  • MrSalmon
    Free Member

Interested to hear if anyone on here moved away from software engineering towards something less hands on. If so what did you go on to do?

If it’s not obvious from the question, I’m a software engineer now and lately I’ve been wondering if I see myself writing code for the rest of my career.

benpinnick

Yep. Left software to start a bike company. Seems to be working. Mind you I did sort out IT stuff last week so I never quite got away from the software.

molgrips
    Free Member

I used to write code. Then I became a ‘consultant’ which involved some code, but designing components using the products we sold, training, advising and leading some design and analysis work. Then I moved to a sort of architect oversight role where partly I get people out of crap situations they’ve got themselves into with our products, and partly I just help people who’ve got stuck.

My aim has always been an architect role i.e. designing stuff for people rather than implementing it.

MrSalmon
    Free Member

@benpinnick I’m probably thinking of a slightly less drastic change!

I guess something like @molgrips describes is probably where I’m headed. A year or two back if anyone had asked I’d have said I wouldn’t want to do something where I wasn’t pretty hands on most of the time, but lately I’m starting to feel like I’ve had enough of it.

bensales
    Free Member

I was a Java developer for a long time, and have a software engineering degree. Gradually moved into architecture over a period of about ten years. Now a Solution/Enterprise Architect for one of the big consultancies, twenty four years into my career.  I’m generally accountable for all the technical aspects of large-scale software transformations, having often lead a team of architects to design them.

Having the development background has proven to be very useful.