Viewing 29 posts - 1 through 29 (of 29 total)
  • 29er rims question – which Light-Bicycle rim?
  • krixmeister

Hi all-

Without opening the “Chinese carbon rims you will die” can of worms, just wanting to know what is the most up-to-date thinking on which rims to get from Light-Bicycle?
    In particular, wondering if anyone has actually tried the hookless rims? I have no experience with hookless – can you chuck a tube into your tire with hookless rims (when running tubeless), if you have a flat?
    Also – which weave/finish are the cool kids using nowadays?

Gee76
    Free Member

Tempted to go hookless meself, tho wish they’d done some a bit wider, can live with 22mm tho and suspect the hookless bead mean the trye will plump up a little more. Maybe enough to feel like they’re 23mm wider 29er rim!.

Are the hookless up on the site… wanders of to check!!. Would do a group buy but LB don’t do much in the wya of discount and onwards post frm uk might cancel out any savings!! Unless af ew of us are local!.

Gee76
    Free Member

Just checked…ah still mid oct sales for hookless rims it appears!!.

krixmeister

I was on “live chat” with them today – quoting about 10 days for manufacturing and delivery for the hookless rims.

Any thoughts on weave/finish?

Gee76
    Free Member

UD Matt 28 hole for me, same as me last 26er wides and will lace to some nice dt 240 hubs (once i find a rear to match me front!) 🙂

Gee76
    Free Member

Last time I asked it was maybe a 5 ish% off for 8-10 rims. A touch more would make it worthwhile for the hassle of reposting etc!.

Buzzard
    Free Member

I’m interested in these hookless rims but still not convinced. Will be interested to hear real feedback assuming you pull the trigger. Was planning on buying some from LB before they started producing hookless and now I’m sort of waiting to see how those pan out and just making do with what Ive got till then.

_daveR
    Free Member

For the uneducated, what does the hookless rim offer?