Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • 180mm rotor front 160mm rotor rear. But Why?
  • gibbon1985
    Free Member

Hello all,

Im pretty new to all this and was looking at increaseing my rear rotors size to 180mm from 160mm. My logic being that I prefer to get my back wheel locking out when flying down a hill rather than my front wheel locking and me going a*se over t*t.
    However looking on here and elsewhere it seams that alot of people have there front rotor at 180mm with their rear set at 160mm.

Am I missing something?

Thanks in advance

jedi

front brake is the main brake.

gibbon1985
    Free Member

I seem to naturally favour useing my rear brake more. I think this stems from a fear of flying over my handlebars if im too eager with my front brake.

So I take it this isnt the norm?

matthew_h
    Free Member

When you brake, there is a weight transfer to the front of the bike giving the front wheel more grip. This means that the front brake does more of the work hence the ability to make the most of a larger brake. The back brake is used mainly for balance rather than out and out braking. A 160mm disc should comfortably lock a rear wheel anyway.

Have a look at most motorbikes. They have huge (often double) front discs and really quite small rears.

Klunk
    Free Member

simple test you can do to illustrate the point, without sitting on the bike roll the bike forward and see how much force you can apply to each brake before the wheels lock up.

Matt24k
    Free Member

No it is not the norm. The majority of the braking should be on the front. Check out any large motorcycle. Two big discs on the front and one small on the rear.

neilsonwheels
    Free Member

Front brake is your friend but not during cornering.

gibbon1985
    Free Member

Sounds like I need to grow some balls then! Learn to love the front brake.

Thanks for the answers it does make sense now.

Thanks to Matthew h for explaining it so a newb can understand!

chiefgrooveguru