• This topic has 24 replies, 17 voices, and was last updated 14 years ago by Zone.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • What tyres for CX?
  • MarginWalker
    Free Member

I'm new to CX, so what tyre widths and models would you recommend and what pressures do you run?

slowuphill
    Free Member
    Bimbler
    Free Member

I like Schwalbe Land Cruisers for general bimbling. I've got 35c and run them at 60psi, cheap and seem pretty puncture resistant but a bit heavy for racing (probably)

aP
    Free Member

I like Tufo T32 for general riding, run at about 25psi.

MrAgreeable

So far I've tried Maxxis Locusts, Spesh Houffalizes and Conti Speed Kings. The Contis were rubbish durability-wise, puncture-prone, and a mate also had the bead on one fail on him during the HONC, but they're made from a soft compound that grips pretty well. The other two have a blockier tread and seem quite a bit tougher.

Coleman
    Free Member

I am assuming you meen 700c not 26"
    At the moment because it has been so dry I'm using Kenda Small Block 8's 700 x 32. When it gets muddy will use Panaracer Crossblaster 700 x 31.
    Pressure depends on course/conditions but between 40 to 60 psi – or just hard enough not to pinch flat

Gary_M
    Free Member

I use schwalbe racing ralphs – nice fast tyre. They do wear very quickly though. Pressure depends on the conditions.

Sam

Dugasts are nice.

In a clincher I like the Maxxis Locusts or Racing Ralphs.

stever
    Free Member

Maxxis Locust (35s) are as bulletproof as any, if you're riding rocky stuff. More useful tread than Landcruisers for me. Skinnier and faster the Conti Twisters seem ok.

MrAgreeable

Dugasts are £130 a pop! I guess if you have a team car backing you up then the ability to run 30psi on a rough course must be a good thing though. Has anyone tried tubeless'ing their 'cross wheels?

clubber
    Free Member