Viewing 27 posts - 1 through 27 (of 27 total)
  • What rope for first lead climb?
  • chojin
    Free Member

I know there are a few climbers on here – just wondering if there are any recommendations for a decent (cheap) single rope? I’m fairly new to the game, but have just started learning to lead.

Cougar

Dynamic rope (obviously). Make sure that you’re buying a single rope and not one meant to be used in a pair.

Thinner ropes are lighter, but too thin can cause issues with some gear.

If you’re ever going to use it outside, get one that’s dry-treated.

One that changes the weave at its midpoint saves you hours when packing away.

metalheart
    Free Member

For your first rope I’d probably say a 50m single, say 10mm. Something by Beal, Edlerid, Mammut or the likes.

Once you get into it you’ll want a better rope and it’ll probably be a half but a 50m single has its uses (wall duties, the odd straight route, top-roping, etc.).

Assuming you are talking about trad. Would be fine for starting of sport too I would reckon.

metalheart
    Free Member

Cougar, if you run through about 2-3m and you then coil hand-over-hand from the ends you don’t need a mid marker in the weave and it saves hours of endless pfaff. 🙂

boxelder

Saves hours? How so?
    10/10.5mm, 55m +.
    Not secondhand………
    tlr on here sells them and will give good advice.

boblo
    Free Member

Hmmm. If you need to ask a question like that on here, I’d forget the leading for the time being.

Get yourself into a club and get out with some like minded individuals. Once you’re happy they’re competent, they can show you the way with kit.

There’s no point buying a single 10/11 if you aspire to leading harder trad multi pitch routes. wrong tool, wrong job. Of course you could use it for single pitch or wall duties but when you’re building a kit set, get the right kit first time.

Decide first, buy later.

That’s all 🙂

AJames
    Free Member