Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • What makes a good manager?
  • Pandora
    Free Member

After the previous posts on male v female managers etc and with me getting back to work today to a load of emails from the boss (he's known as Mr CF – control freak) it has got me thinking as to what makes a good manager?

I am a manager but not a comfortable one – no matter what I do it doesn't keep people happy.

What is your definition?

sofatester
    Free Member

Getting the job done, whist keeping most people happy most of the time.

Smee
    Free Member

If your monkeys see you doing things to make their life easier they will in turn make your life easier. It's as simple as that.

samuri
    Free Member

Keep all the politics off my back.
    Let me get on with my job.
    Provide high level leadership and direction but keep out of the nitty gritty.
    Listen to me (and do something about it) when I say I'm overloaded.
    Keep personal feelings out of reviews/assessments (I had one boss who didn't like me but was always very fair when it came to reviews – credit to him)

I'll repay any boss who does this for me by always working above and beyond what is necessary, I'll never bother them with fine detail, I'll deal with what they tell me are my priorities in the appropriate order and I'll be loyal to that individual rather than what other people in the company might be telling me.

oldgrump08
    Free Member

Would say samuri's about got it but would add they also have to make sure you have the tools to do the job, whether that's money, people, expertise etc etc.

DrRSwank
    Free Member

Being adaptive to a variety of peoples needs and making sure that they do what you want in the way that best suits them.

Job done.

ton

i think i am a good manager………
    we have to man the branch every saturday for 3 hours, which we do not get any extra for, they say it is in our salary.
    so i let the blokes take 3 hours off in the week to make up for it.