Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 85 total)
  • Waterstone's abandon their apostrophe.
  • RustySpanner

Jesus wept.

Do they really belive that the ‘proud to be stupid’ demographic buy fewer books because they’re scared of punctuation?

Even McDonald’s haven’t dumbed down to this extent.

Seriously, those responsible will be first against the wall when I lead the forthcoming Pedant’s Revolt to glorious, nitpicking victory.

jackthedog
    Free Member

Representing a return to an old brand as well as the loss of an apostrophe, the design press is alive with this news today.

As a designer myself, I can say that I couldn’t give a shit either way.

headfirst
    Free Member

Pedant’s Revolt

I think you mean Pedants’ Revolt, comrade!

IHN

James Daunt, the managing director, who took over the chain last year following a change of ownership said: “Waterstones without an apostrophe is, in a digital world of URLs and email addresses, a more versatile and practical spelling.”

Oh, okay then

John Richards, the chairman of the Apostrophe Protection Society said: “It’s just plain wrong. It’s grammatically incorrect. If Sainsbury’s and McDonald’s can get it right, then why can’t Waterstones. You would really hope that a bookshop is the last place to be so slapdash with English.”

I can’t help but agree.

nbt

the forthcoming Pedant’s Revolt

Just you then? Or did you mean Pedants’ Revolt?

😉

edit: d’oh, beaten by headfirst

hels
    Free Member

I think we should just quietly let it die. It doesn’t really add anything, apart from as you say, adding another line to the Charter of Pedantry.

stilltortoise
    Free Member

Have a look at the URL for this thread:

http://singletrackworld.com/forum/topic/waterstones-abandon-their-apostrophe