Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 46 total)
  • Time Trial – Any Advice
  • samuri
    Free Member

Got my first ever time trail on Wednesday. It’s just a 10 miler. I know I just have to ride as fast as I can for half an hour but any other snippets of useful information would be greatly appreciated.

I’ll take a water bottle with me, or is that bad form? And tools in a saddle bag and a frame pump or will this make me stand out like a complete newbie?

I know drafting is not allowed (not that I’ll be catching anyone) but that’s about it.

wors

Don’t set off like shoite off a shovel, wouldn’t bother with a water bottle for 10 miles.

jojoA1
    Free Member

Going to be doing my second ever next Wednesday, I hope. So I’d be interested in advice too. Any tips on how do you get a good aero shape without aero bars?

jam-bo

ride really really fast.

Surfr
    Free Member

I started this lark in April too. I sat out this weeks to take photographs instead for the local press. If you want to see peoples positions (hugely varied) and what they are wearing take a look at my photos from this weeks sporting 10 miler.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/surfr/sets/72157617396416137/

STATO
    Free Member

Warm up! If you can ride to the start do that, or if not do at least 15mins of work to get the legs warm (this will help them clear the acid build-up so you dont die halfway round)

Since this is your first set off at your expected pace, so if your aiming for half an hour get upto 20mph and dont push harder. Itll feel silly to hold back but if your feeling good after 10 minutes (you prob wont ;0) push a little harder. In following attempts you can increase your speed.

Water bottle left at the start so you can neck it once your back.

Cool down! go for a spin as soon as youve picked up your bottle to cool down the legs, or theyll feel like jelly the next day (if you tried hard)

Enjoy it! its hard but can be fun.

Breathe! focus on your breathing and itll help it pass quicker.