Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • This is why as a science graduate I feel like I'm going to be lynched one day
  • bwaarp
    Free Member

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-20025626

Judiciary and general public display a total ignorance of science and go on a witch hunt….once again.

So who is going to be willing to help governments in Italy make risk assessments about natural hazards now? If the answers science was only able to give were certainties, we’d never be where we are now.

geordiemick00
    Free Member

i’d study english before science, because it’s already being discussed 😆

mrben100
    Free Member

geordiemick00 – Member
    i’d study english before science, because it’s already being discussed

😆

EDIT: I’m always doing this!

bwaarp
    Free Member

i’d study english before science, because it’s already being discussed

Damnit!

maccruiskeen

[video]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mfxl_UsA-Qs[/video]

MSP

That is madness, I can hardly believe that is possible in this day and age.

piemonster

Yes I heard about this, without knowing the exact details it’s hard to be certain…. but it looks absolutely crazy.

Wasn’t aware that earthquake prediction was an exact science!?

Reminds me of complaints my brother (mental health) and sister in law (who works in a truly frightening mental health ward) about media and government reactions scaring off potentially excellent people from entering the field.

atlaz
    Free Member

The Italians have an odd legal system though. Effectively whenever someone dies in an accident, they look for someone to blame. I’d not have been surprised if they’d tried to imprison the builders of the properties that collapsed had the houses not been so old. If I recall correctly, Patrick Head was found guilty of manslaughter because of Ayrton Senna’s crash in 1994.

jambalaya
    Free Member

@bwaarp – thanks for posting, this is extra-ordinary.