Viewing 31 posts - 1 through 31 (of 31 total)
  • Steel Frame Recommendations
  • outthere
    Free Member

I have a grand to spend and am looking for advice on what to buy. This much I know…….I dont want a complete bike, I want to build something personal. On my budget I am told this may take a little time to get the right things at the right price and I am prepared to wait. I want a steel frame and accept that Reynolds 853 may not be in the budget.

I am new to mountain biking and am mostly riding single track at present.

So what do you recommend.

racefaceec90

was going to recommend a charge duster (until i read your thread) curtis seem to be very well rated by people looking for a custom steel frame http://www.curtisbikes.co.uk/ (i would consider one,myself one day,if i had the cash 🙂

monkeyboyjc

i take it your budget is 1k for a full bike build, so your looking at £150-250 as a frame?
    so something like these:
    onone inbred
    charge blender
    ragley blue pig

Tom83

Evans have Charge duster skinny for £225ish at the moment. Very tempted myself, just to keep hold of in case i build another bike!

outthere
    Free Member

The grand is for the full bike. Quite like the charge duster suggested by racefaceec90. Can strech a little more but its not an umlimited pot! Less than £350 ideally.

Singlespeed_Shep
    Free Member

try and get a 2nd or build a new Single speed Singular humingbird or a swift if you like the look of big wheels.

outthere
    Free Member

Single Speed – Sounds a bit hardcore!

danti

I’d look for a decent 2nd hand Cotic Soul.

hambl90
    Free Member

Best steel frame I’ve ridden was a cove handjob.

mbydmt
    Free Member

Second a Cove Handjob, they’re really great frames, come up for about £150 second hand, couple that with some maxle reba’s or similar and some proIIs on flows/arch’s and a decent solid build kit, you can happily come in under a grand if you don’t mind second hand.

Kryton57