Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 62 total)
  • Stanage Causeway is getting flattened.
  • doctorgnashoidz
    Free Member

Just been out on a lunch time ride which was going lovely until I came across a Derbyshire CC van. Two workmen were putting up a notice at the Redmires end indicating that in a couple of weeks it will be sanitised up to the Sheffield border which I think is Stanage Pole.

Crushed granite he said. Which I don’t think is what they used else where so he’s probably wrong. It’s not road planings but its still bad news. He also said the horse riders have been complaining. Well I’ve been riding that section for 25 years and I can count on one hand the number of horses I’ve seen on there. May be that is why they complained. And i know we have to share the trails but still very annoying.

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member

Got to say I’ve not ridden it or chappel Gate since they were sanitised last itme.

Not deliberately avoiding them, but I’m not local anymore so wouldn’t go out of my way to ride the ‘improved’ versions after a long drive to get there.

Oi! DCC! I’m one of those pople who don’t visit you anymore and don’t spend money there as a result of your policy!

Pook

Is it not pretty flat all the way up to there anyway? As long as they leave off the pack horse path I can’t see it making much difference

doctorgnashoidz
    Free Member

The rocky challenge is being removed. The silver lining is you can sometimes get a nice jump from a drainage channel.

Onzadog
    Free Member

I guess it’s another bit of trail where we need to pray for a savage winter to return it to its previous state and show the council what a waste of money this all it.

I’m pretty sure the added speed from these super smooth motorway trails is going to cause some trouble soon.

thepodge
    Free Member

Bring it on I say. It means the whole causeway will be rideable as a climb and those who aren’t confident riding the plantation have an alternative dh.