Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Roadie Advice – L’Alp D’Huez
  • iamsporticus
    Free Member

hello – help appreciated

I am as fit a MTB’r as you can be in Cambridge LOL

One of my pals from the rowing club is having a mid life crisis and talking about L’Alp D’Huez
    Hes a fit bugger and although he doesnt ride he has admired Lance etc etc on the Tour

After too many beers last night I have signed up to a trip with him
    The prob is I have no idea what Ive agreed to

Im a good amateur XC rider – in Cambridge…….
    I occasionally visit family in Sheffield and take my road bike with me
    In the Peaks I can happily do 40km or so with 1200m of elevation
    It would be nice to think Alpine passes are better designed than Pindale/Winnats and the rest

Am I kidding myself here?

Better still can anyone give me first hand advice or else suggest a good Peak training ride for tackling Alp D’Huez?
    By that I mean is it like Winnats for 40km or else is it more like the ride up through Abney but 4 times over?

Many thanks

Nick-Scots
    Free Member

It’s not that hard. It’s only 12-15km and each ramp between hairpins is almost the same grade so easy to pace yourself. The first 2km is tough.

If you can get a triple road bike like me, then it should be easy. Watch ypur speed descednign as it’s easy to coast up to 45mph. The hairpins are dodgy if you get them wrong. I did it in 1 and a 1/4 hrs. Taking it ‘souplesse’.

Col D’Izoard and the Ventoux are much harder.

Nick

marionheck
    Free Member

As above it is not that hard to do, it is how hard you do it that makes the difference. If you can keep your heart rate at about 80% of it’s max for jus over an hour then you will be able to get up it.
    For training just ride up hill as much as you can for as fast as you can.

Good luck and don’t forget to admire the view!

finners