Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 82 total)
  • Repairable or an ex-frame?
  • meesterbond

Picked this up secondhand a little while back and after three only rides noticed a crack in the top tube, just behind the headtube weld..

It’s an alloy frame, US made so sending it back isn’t really an option but I was wondering whether repair aluminium is ever really an option? The crack runs from one side, under the tube (which is a sort of V shape) and about the same distance up the other side…

DickBarton

Ex in my opinion but I have no experience or real world knowledge of this…

singlespeedstu

I’d scrape the paint off first and have a closer look.

bullandbladder
    Free Member

Looks like a stray pube

Suggsey
    Free Member

For me I would call that an ex claim on your house insurance for a replacement?

Zedsdead
    Free Member

we could weld that up stronger than it was no problem…

kaesae
    Free Member

If you remove the paint you won’t be able to see anything. I would mark it with a stanley knife at the uppermost point across the way and then monitor it to see if it gets any worse.

I would also be looking for a new frame, is it an intense?

Chances of it cracking in two are slim, still it would be messy if it did.

Everyone else reading this, always check all the welds and the area close to them when you buy a frame or bike, it’s a bit of a pain but not as bad an losing out on your investment.

You might be able to buy a new front end or a damaged frame that has a front end that’s OK.

For what it’s worth, I hope that helps.

steveh

I’d remove the paint too, it may just be a crack in the paint rather than the tube underneath. Most cracked bikes I’ve seen have had an obvious crack in the tube under the paint if it’s truly dead.

toys19
    Free Member

Chances of it cracking in two are slim