Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • putting unprotected bateries in a p7
  • robhughes
    Free Member

Hi guys.bought a couple of the green unproteced bateries from dx for the p7 by mistake.
    reordered the blue protected ones but what happenes if you use the others.
    will this cause thermo neucler meltdown and the end of the world. :?.
    or should i just bin them.

Badgerpoo
    Free Member

I'm no expert, but I think you would risk over driving the led and even the battery catching fire :(. Afaik the torch itself has no protection.

bear-uk
    Free Member

I been using the unprotected ones for ages, they came out of a laptop. The protection is there for charging as far as I'm aware.
    As with any 18650 battery, do not leave them on charge without regularly checking them, as they can overcharge and explode.

robhughes
    Free Member

smudge are you there 😉

turboferret

Unprotected cells should be fine if you're sensible.

A P7 will draw about 2.25A from a single cell, the protection circuit won't kick in until considerably more, to save short-circuiting.

Only thing to be aware of is not over-discharging too much, as there won't be any low voltage protection, so you could damage the battery by leaving it running too long.

Not an expert, but hope that helps,

Cheers, Rich

lightman
    Free Member

I only use/sell unprotected batterys with flash lights, as the last thing you want is the protection kicking in when you're hammering down hill!
    Ive sold over 100 flash lights and gone through over 400 batterys and never had any blowing up or catching fire.
    The only thing you need to remember to do, is as Turbo said, change the battery before the light sucks it dry, but usually the light will be quite dim before then anyway.

Just out of curiosity, which "green" batterys did you get? As i only buy the blue TrustFire ones.

abductee
    Free Member