Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • One day at BPW, which trails do you ride?
  • scunny
    Free Member

I’m there next saturday with a big group (13 – 3 experienced, 10 absolute novice). I’m guessing there is an order in which trails the novices should ride to get aclimatised? I’m planning on doing the big blue, but would appreciate a ‘best of’ list if there is one.

We’ll be spending the morning together and then after lunch the 3 of us that ride will be pealing off to ride the blacks. Which trail is most like the Aline? We’ll be on hire bikes so i’ll not be sending the pro lines, I don’t want to have to pay for anything that breaks.

Also, apologies if you’re there next weekend and you get held up by a big bunch of tourists on hire bikes.

m0rk
    Free Member

Novice novice? Like zero mtb experience?

Sixtapod to willy waver repeatedly.

scunny
    Free Member

Out of the 10 ‘novices’, 7 are road cyclists with limited/no experience riding MTB in adulthood (we’re all 30ish), 3 are absolute cycling novices.

Thanks for the advice, i’ll see if there are some vids on youtube.

BillOddie

10 novices at BPW? Whats the over/under on A&E casualties? 3?

scunny
    Free Member

Hopefully none if they stick to appropriate trails, there aren’t many heroes in the bunch so i’m pretty confident they’ll be ok.

m0rk
    Free Member

Definitely the 3 total novices… get them to do the green trail first.

You’ll have a blast, just space yourselves out and don’t stop on the trail… Nothing worse than being on a run and finding a group having a natter halfway down

m0rk
    Free Member

Also, Terry’s Belly is a long trail for a novice – very tiring if you’re going to panic brake all the way.

scunny
    Free Member

Thanks guys. Must do reds, blacks for the afternoon?

Only asking for recommendations as I presume we’ll not get through them all in one day?

m0rk
    Free Member

I’m not sure I’d send novices down any of the blacks. Or some of the reds.