Viewing 28 posts - 1 through 28 (of 28 total)
  • Lee Quarry Travel and Info?
  • tjr666
    Free Member

Hi folks, I will hopefully (according to Chain Reaction) recieve my spanking new full face helmet and knee/shin guards tomorrow, so wanted to pay a visit to my first "proper" trail centre, namley Lee Quarry, Bacup. Problem is, the bike gear is a present and I am a student with no more loan left and hence I am skint. I also don't drive so was looking for a cheap way to get to Todmorden by train (I live in Glossop), trouble is from looking at the rail map for the coverage of a rail ranger ticket (£4.00) it stops being valid two stops prior to Todmorden and so does the System One card (£6.30) so first question is – any cheap day tickets or any other way of getting there that anyone knows of?? Secondly, I ride an upgraded Kona Blast 2008 (Marz MX Pro Lo 120mm forks, Raceface Atlas Bar and Stem, Sunringle Equaliser 23 rims) would this be suitable for Lee Quarry? (I have never rode anything other than natural trails before in the peak) and given the current naff weather does the place drain well? I would class myself as borderline intermediate in ability (I dont know anyone else who rides so dont really have anything to compare myself against!!). Thanks in advance!

Bregante

Your bike will be fine for Lee Quarry but I wouldn't suggest you need a full facer. Also, isn't Todmorden a fair way from Bacup??

robgarrioch

Can't advise on the transport, but the course is easily do-able on a 100mm h'tail, including the tech areas – you'd maybe want to do the red circuit first, have a good look at the black bits & decide if you want to try them. It's been wet the last 2 times I've been, & it's no worse than 'usual' (some standing water, but techy bits ok). There does seem to be a gritty quality to the mud that lends itself to chain-suck… There's a few shops nearby but no on-site facilities as such. Enjoy – it's a great wee trail.

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition