Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 222 total)
  • Interesting unknown engineering landmarks in the uk
  • ianpinder
    Free Member

Ok, so I'm a civil engineer and i'm interested in engineering structure, be it dams/bridges/buildings, apart from the major ones, what interesting landmarks are there?

tangent
    Free Member

I have often been very impressed by various features found along the canal network for e.g the Anderton Lift on the Trent & Mersey Canal is a very impressive sight…

richcc
    Free Member

Fabulously vague!

Here's a few for me which may or may not be obvious.

Millenium dome

London eye

gherkin

gchq building

st pauls cathedral

that barge lift in Scotland

Newcastle to Gateshead footbridge

internationally – millau bridge, taipei 101, all of Dubai!

project
    Free Member

The large elusive ivory tower some live in.

Standedge tunnels,

the woodhead tunnels,

St Pancaras station,

Stwlan dam in north wales,

the dams of wales,

bassspine
    Free Member

Brunel's atmospheric engine tower at Starcross
    Welsh gold mines at Dolgellau
    the Bude canal

snaps
    Free Member

I ride over & under this on the North edge of Dartmoor regularly – its right by the main A30 yet most people have never heard of it.
    http://www.meldonviaduct.co.uk/

geoffj

Inverkip Power Station

ahwiles
    Free Member

catesby viadict:

ahwiles
    Free Member

and catesby tunnel:

porterclough
    Free Member

The railway viaduct in Stockport that the M60 passes under:

Mersey viaduct

JulianA
    Free Member

Brunel's bridge at Saltash

The Causey Arch

Maybe not a marvel, but

Lutyen's building in Basingstoke

For a start…

phoenixfromtheflame
    Free Member

Not so much a landmark as it's inside a hill, but Cruachan Power Station is a feat of engineering.

nickc

The Falkirk Wheel is pretty outrageous.

Tracker1972
    Free Member

Was just going to say the Falkirk Wheel, amazing to watch.

YoungDaveriley
    Free Member