Viewing 33 posts - 1 through 33 (of 33 total)
  • How do you stay out of someone else's office politics?
  • brooess
    Free Member

In a nutshell:
    I’m a contractor, been here nearly 3 years moving from one contract to another because I’m pretty good at getting things done (which lots of the perm people aren’t)
    Started a new role in Jan – 3rd person in the role in 6 months, the manager I’m reporting to having been hauled in front of HR at least once in recent times and a string of conflicts behind her…
    She’s essentially out of her depth and very insecure so plays games to try and hide the fact she can’t do her job – same old same old that we’ve all seen many times before.
    So she’s trying to get me to take work off one of her perm direct reports who she’s fallen out with and won’t hand over to me… as far as I can see because said manager has upset her so much.

So essentially I’m having to be an intermediary to two women who won’t speak to each other…

I’m now being told I have to ‘own’ this particular task even though the person currently responsible won’t give me the info I’m asking for…

So how on earth do you progress? My predecessor appears to have been scapegoated out of the role… I’ll be sending an email to the manager to show what I’ve done to try and get the info I need so that it’s documented but other than that, how do I get a handover from someone who doesn’t want to…?

Owning with Bombers and weeing in shoes not really likely to get me anywhere, sadly…

Jamie
    Free Member

Threesome.

You’re old fella can be the olive branch that brings these two together.

CaptainFlashheart
    Free Member

So essentially I’m having to be an intermediary to two women who won’t speak to each other…

Only one way to solve that. And it involves a paddling pool and some baby oil.

DT78
    Free Member

Start looking for another contract

Drac