Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Honeywell CM927 Thermostat – Optimum Start Feature. Do you use it?
  • FunkyDunc
    Free Member

I’ve been using the Honeywell CM927 (pic below) for many years now just using the standard programme settings.

People on here mention about using Optimum Start features so that the room reaches the required temperature on time. How does this work, as surely it is dependant on the temperature outside the house and how cold the walls are etc. How can it predict how long it will take?

Also our current Veissmann boiler has an external temp gauge on it so it doesnt work as hard as the temp increases, surely this would complicate the Honeywells job further?

So should I select the Optimum Start Feature or leave it alone?

FunkyDunc
    Free Member

bump…

Rubber_Buccaneer

OK, if it’s like mine (I don’t know the number, it looks the same) then it knows what temperature you want the room to be and the time you want it to be that temperature. It also knows what the current temperature is so the clever bit is that it learns how long it will take to raise the temperature by the required amount and fires up the boiler at the last possible moment to reach the temperature you want on time.

In thoery this means you don’t set the heating to come on earlier than you need just to make sure you aren’t cold. I have no idea how well it works, it sounded good when I bought the heating system and I haven’t given it a thought since 😀

FunkyDunc
    Free Member

I might just give it a go and see, but still not too convinced its nothing more than a linear graph thats applied.