Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Hip pain one side only
  • monkeyninja
    Free Member

Just finished my first 70k sportive and developed some pain in left hip after about 20k, it felt like it was inside rather than muscular. I am new to road riding and this is furthest I’ve ridden in one go, could this be a bike set up issue like seat height or cleat position?

eshershore
    Free Member

@monkeyninja

this can be caused by numerous factors, and its worth having your setup diagnosed by a decent bike fitter.

the starting point would be the saddle, to make sure its supporting your ischial tuberosity (sit bones) properly.

If not, this can often cause an imbalance and your body will tend to “adapt” itself by you sitting lopsided or constantly adjusting your stance which can present as hip pain

size / bulk of rider has nothing to do with width of ischial tuberosity so its worth having it checked out, and a decent saddle sorted if needed.

once you have the right saddle, have the fitter look at your saddle height and fore / aft.

all good bike fitting comes from the saddle being in the right place for your body.

once that is established they can start looking at your reach / drop, cleat alignment, knee tracking, etc. its quite common to have a difference in femur or tibia length on one leg, which can cause hip pain until adjustments are made to your setup.

wanmankylung
    Free Member

size / bulk of rider has nothing to do with width of ischial tuberosity so its worth having it checked out, and a decent saddle sorted if needed.

So size of the rider has nothing to do with the distance between their sit bones. M’Kay.

I would be thinking that it’s more to do with you not having done that distance at that pace before. I get pains in my hips despite my bike fitting me perfectly. Ride more and they’ll probably lessen, if they dont go see a physio.

monkeyninja
    Free Member