Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Epping Forest – tips, suggested routes, GPS downloads?
  • ibnchris

Hoping to go and explore Epping Forest tomorrow as I’d never realised it was so close to where I live. Anyone got any tips on a good loop – ideally a GPS route I can upload to my garmin

eyerideit
    Free Member

Head up to High Beech anywhere around there is ok.

I’ve been meaning to find a loop I can use to train on.

Where abouts are you?

ibnchris

I’m in Crouch End

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    adrianmurray
    Free Member

You will need to spend the first few trips orientating yourself. None of the trails are marked.

Should you choose to ignore the fact that almost all the trails are closed at risk of £200 penalty, mud tyres are best choice at this time of year.

You may also want to look at essexhertsmtb.co.uk

Kryton57

Hi guys

I’m a 10 year veteran of the forest. 😀

Epping is a myriad of singletrack. You can ride around all day and not repeat yourself, but you really need to know where your going/search around for the various “ins” to the trails. On the plus side as long as you know roughly where you are, you can easily bail onto a road / bridleway and the furthest HB will away will be about 40mins.

My best advice is to link up with the many social groups that ride at the weekends from High Beech. There’s another that rides from Chingford on Wednesday nights and Saturdays.

At the moment the HB cark park is getting some update work so people are avoiding it so they may be hard to find at thier alternate meet points.

If you want to ride with our group drop me a mail and you’d be welcome to join in.