• This topic has 26 replies, 20 voices, and was last updated 13 years ago by Esme.
Viewing 27 posts - 1 through 27 (of 27 total)
  • Emergency Contact Details?
  • Esme
    Free Member

Just read a thought-provoking post over on a kayaking forum:

Back in April we had a rather silly situation develop. After the death of one of our party, the Police were desperate to obtain an address to visit for next of kin. We were able to provide a phone number taken from a mobile but no one in the party knew the parents or where they lived. In this case, as a student, the university held the required details but was closed that day. Committee members were available but are apparently not allowed to retain this info due to data protection laws. We eventually resolved the issue by finding the driving licence.

So . . . would your riding companions know who to contact on your behalf?

crikey
    Free Member

I’m an ITU nurse and this situation crops up occasionally. My advice is don’t panic about it; we find relatives or significant others quite quickly without any need for special procedures……

piedidiformaggio
    Free Member

I’ve got a Road-ID and always wear it on a ride (especially as I’m diabetic)

Would be sensible if everyone had something like it

http://www.roadid.com/Common/default.aspx

SurroundedByZulus
    Free Member

Your uni will have a press office that are available at all times for this very scenario.

northshoreniall

Yep, also ICE number on phone and brother in law gave me ICE tag for Christmas – is usb stick dog tag with all my details, n.o.k., allergies etc.., and even translates into several languages.
    Particularly aware as asthmatic so make point of carrying it and making riding mates know where inhalers are stashed. Anyone am out paddling/ walking/ biking with gets told all this as if asthma kicks off I probably won’t be able to tell them.

mcobie
    Free Member