Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • couple of remote flash pics
  • jedi

taken by my mate sam, trying a remote flash. i think he needs another one or 2

PICS HERE

theginjaninja
    Free Member

He’s got enough flashes. Just not aimed correctly. Light is washing over the woodwork not the ride.

jedi

they seem too shadowy

ampthill

I’m not sure the flash under the rider thing is working

No experience of off csmera flash but I know a forum where a couple of people with decent MTB picks lurk, including use of off amera flash. Let me know if you/Sam are interested

big_scot_nanny

It’s a nice effect, but agree that the flash needs focused more. Pretty cool photo however.

Can I politely suggest your mate Sam has a look at, assuming he has not already, takes a look at http://www.strobist.com as a fantastic resource for off camera flash tips.

Kev

jedi

cheers guys for the input . i’ll point him to this thread too 🙂

STATO
    Free Member

Im no expert but from the few times ive tried it i found you need to pull the light further forward or you cant see any detail in the rider. Unless he was going for one of those fancy BMX mag type shoots, in which case i think lifting the flash closer to the rider or zooming it in (if it has that function) might help.

Here is one of mine…

Flash on the floor, out of LOS of the rider, just enough power to match ambient light.

093 by dickyelsdon, on Flickr

A more arty shot, rider is my cousin shot by one of his mates (who is pretty good shooter from what ive seen). Good example of a powerful flash positioned well.

aidan table by JohnnyYFE, on Flickr

stumpy01

I’d agree that the flash should perhaps have been a bit higher up. It appears to be firing under the rider a bit too much.

Do you know where it was positioned? It looks like it was pointing up at the rider, behind that landing ramp??