Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Cottage pie – cooked mince, cooled mince, oven cooked with potato, cooled-frozen
  • scuttler

Cottage pie – I cooked the mince, cooled the mince and left it in the fridge overnight then the next day made some mash and oven cooked the whole lot. The little one didn’t get eaten so I cooled and froze it, so all done within ‘normal timescales’. If I defrost and then thoroughly cook it, will I die?

xcgb
    Free Member

Nah it’ll be fine just make sure its nice and hot, i do this a fair bit

Although I am not a food scientist!

Sandwich

Eventually you will die but not of food poisoning/botulism.

bodgy
    Free Member

As long as the mince wasn’t frozen initially; bad joo-joo to refreeze meat.

scuttler

Thanks all – I’ll report back in due course, but if not please no ‘Rider/Diner Down’ threads.

slowoldman

Careful, you’ll have the pie police on you (“it’s not a pie).
    We’ve just had a home made cheese and beetroot pie (fully encased). ’twas lovely.

cyclingmev
    Free Member

Re-heat it up real good before re-eating…. would recommend 3 hours on 600 deg C…. 😉

scuttler

I’m still here 24 hours after eating and running to the normal ‘schedule’. Thanks all – it was lovely with gravy, spinach and dab of brown sauce.

mikewsmith
    Free Member

botulism test
    Grad your tongue pull it out if it doesn’t go back in it’s too late

ransos
    Free Member

We do this all the time. I’m still here.

steve-g
    Free Member

I have been buying mince, freezing it, defrosting to cook, then freezing the resulting meals for lunches to microwave at a later date for years and have not died so far.

bob_summers

mmm, tofu

Cougar

Related to this,

I’m never quite sure whether I should be defrosting home-frozen meals. Logic would suggest that I should, but every frozen meal I’ve ever bought from a shop has said to cook directly from frozen.

What’s the collective STW wisdom here?

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member