Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Commuter/touring pannier advice please
  • banjowhacker
    Free Member

I'm looking to buy some new panniers to replace the Altura ones i've been using for the past 15 years. They have lasted well but my main gripes are that they are not very secure (can't use them on my mountainbike as they bounce off the rack) and they have to be used with liners in the wet. I will mainly be using them for commuting and for weekends away camping.
    It looks like Vaude and Ortleib panniers are the *best*. Is there a clear winner? My budget is up to £100.
    Thanks 🙂

cynic-al
    Free Member

Happy with my Vaude – secure, waterproof, can carry LOADS of shopping, shoulder strap a boone also.

ton

ortleib roll tops are the daddy……….
    i use carradice, cos i am a old fuddyduddy 8)

Pieface

Ortliebs are good, although the roll-tops can leak if you leave them out all night in the rain and don't undo them carefully or they are empty.

I prefer the bikepacker ones. No idea if they're any better but they look better. Also if you're paranoid like me, you'll wrap clothes and sleeping bag in drysacks anyway 'just in case'.

Also you'll have one that will be opened during the day so stuff will get wet.

Therefore despite owning a pair of Ortliebs, I don't think the waterproof factor is worth putting that much emphasis on, more the secure mounting, which the Ortliebs happen to also have.

STATO
    Free Member

Ive got ortliebs, they are pretty good. Used the rears for about 3yrs commuting now and still look good and havnt suffered from being bashed about. However the '1 big pocket' design isnt perfect and annoys many, ive learned to deal with it but sometimes its annoying to try and find the small thing you want thats disappeared to the bottom.

amplebrew

cynic-al – Member
    Happy with my Vaude – secure, waterproof, can carry LOADS of shopping, shoulder strap a boone also.

Another one for Vaude here 🙂