Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Chain suck on new 456 build????
  • billyboy
    Free Member

I've been riding two 456s with 18" frames for a couple of years with no problems. One has an old Middleburn square taper crank with a 113 bottom bracket, the other has an Xt Hollowtech 2 chainset. I have been using Shimano XT, Middleburn and Blackspire Chain Rings and KMC 9speed chains of high to lower end speck, with SLX, XT or Sram 9 spd 11/34 cassettes.

I've just built a 14" 456 for my girlfriend with a 170 Middleburn crank, 113 bottom bracket, £40 KMC 9spd chain and XT 11/34 cassette. I started out with brand new Middleburn Slickshift Hardcoat rings but they sucked round on the down change straight away. Thus within 400 yards we had a scarred chainstay and stuck chain. No amount of fettling seemed to stop the problem so I swapped out the Chainrings to Blackspire ones and there was no problem for about 300 miles of use (probably less). Matt at middleburn was very decent and swapped these Middleburn rings for a fresh set which I now have on one of my 456s and they are working well.

The last ride we did together she started getting chainsuck again in the middle chainring going onto granny ring. The chain is showing no significant wear on the chainchecker gauge. There are no sticky links or loose plates/rivets, and no deformities on the chainrings. The frame is properly aligned, I checked it using the LBS's frame gauge and the drop outs are straight. I have encouraged a bit of down change discipline ie, keep pedaling but ease off the pressure when changing, and we did a couple of hours of up/down Lakeland Fell riding the next day without incident.

I'm still not very happy that it has been happening at all and I've been looking for solutions online but not really found anything applicable to this case.

I'm thinking………