Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Careers advice (potentially worthless degree content)
  • alwillis

As a bit of background: I’m 23, with a BSc in Sport and Exercise Science from Bath. To get onto that degree I needed 3 As at A level. I also did a year working in industry as part of my degree (in Vancouver). Since graduating I have worked in a relevant job for 8months in the city of London, and hated living there while the job wasn’t quite as described. So I quit and moved to Swindon with my GF (she has an excellent job at the hospital here).

The upshot is I now don’t have a job, and the sports science sector nationally is tiny, Nd only open to those with postgrad qualifications really. No problem, I can get any job, I’m an intelligent graduate (?!?). So started applying to all sorts of places, from warehouse floor, to management and grad schemes locally. The responses seem to fall into two categories- too overqualified to work for a low wage in a manual job, or not enough management experience to get a “better” position. Thirdly, many large companies direct me to their grad schemes which are fine, but hugely over subscribed, and in many cases far more than I really need at this stage.

As a bit of thinking out loud, I see that I have a few options:
    A) persevere and try to get any job and work from there
    B) get some experience in a different industry (unpaid internship?)
    C) go and get some different qualifications (probably someone more vocational but upon idea what)

Apologies if this sounds like a typical student saying it’s too hard to get a job, but from my perspective I’m more confused about the best way to build skills in an as yet unknown industry/sector.

mikewsmith
    Free Member

Swindon? Start with all the local sports teams?
    Get a map and draw a circle on how far you would drive and mark the furthest you would travel by train.