Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Career change
  • justatheory
    Free Member

3 years ago I graduated with a 2:1 in Computing from Manchester Metropolitan University. I’m aware that it’s not the most prestigious institution, nevertheless I was still otimistic of getting a decent job.

Unfortunately I couldn’t get anything related to my degree so I got a temp job in a call centre. I don’t quite know how this has happened but I’ve been here for 3 years – in the same position – and it’s going nowhere. I realise my stagnation will have decreased my chances of an IT related job even further, especially considering the current state of affairs.

I’d consider doing a postgrad but don’t want to waste money and be back at square one. My missus is a teacher and seeing how stressed and overworked she is, I don’t fancy that. I’ve been looking at Surveying conversion course but I don’t have any background in this area and committing to a course without knowing if it’s suitable is really difficult. I know this is something I should probably be speaking to a careers advisor about but any help or advice is appreciated (even if you are all complete strangers).

project
    Free Member

I know this is something I should probably be speaking to a careers advisor about

Carers advisors are usually people who havent or are unable to do a proper job.

It sems as if half the population are now looking for change of employment jobs, sadly theres very few jobs out there, preferably stick to what you got trained to do, and work up the slippery ladder.

ourmaninthenorth

If you were to stay at the call centre, where would be your next step?

And if you didn’t stay, what would you ideally do next?

scuzz
    Free Member

Devise a pyramid scheme.

What do you really want to do?

justatheory
    Free Member