• This topic has 6 replies, 5 voices, and was last updated 12 years ago by Del.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Car insurance woes
  • Offpistejon
    Free Member

Just received dox for new insurance policy (for new car), Direct Line have asked for proof of no claims. I can’t actually provide this as I am a named driver on wife’s ins, also with DL. It was my fault as I now realise I was stating no claims rather than named driver no claims on application. Result is extra £160 charge which is too much – what should I do?

Shop around for new deal on both cars?

Cough up and get on with life?

Something else?

Any advice from similar experiences much appreciated!!

mrben100
    Free Member

Always shop around – I rearely find Direct Line to be the cheapest.

Privilege have been the cheapest by at least £80-£100 for me the last 3 years compared to using the comparison websites.

Strange though, I think they are underwitten by Direct Line. 😕

Del

thought DL actually allow you to accrue ncd as a named driver?
    worth asking the question/doing the research.

dooosuk
    Free Member

Ring them up and speak to them. If you can’t get a deal for having two policies etc you can probably cancel your policy with them due to 14day cooling off period. Then just shop around for a better deal (as you should when the wife’s expires).

There’s an article on moneysavingexpert which tells you which order of comparison sites gives the best coverage of quotes.

IdleJon

Del – Member
    thought DL actually allow you to accrue ncd as a named driver?
    worth asking the question/doing the research.

They give named drivers NCB if they are insured with Direct Line.

Referring to OP: Funny how people suddenly don’t understand how NCB works until they are asked to prove it?

Offpistejon
    Free Member

Thanks all for the advice, will do some shopping then…….

Del

I am a named driver on wife’s ins, also with DL.