Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • built like a small family car which spring…..
  • bigphilblackpool
    Free Member

taking delivery of my new bike on tuesday. allwyas had hardtails and im a bit new to the shock side. it has a fox van rc fitted with a 450lbs spring.. now im 20 stone so what spring do i need. ive heard that foxes own are a bit hit and miss and the lengths are way off… can i fit any spring as long as correct size?

mikewsmith
    Free Member

http://www.tftuned.com/spring-calculator
    Different people measure spring lengths differently, there are a number of people making springs in the right spec for Fox.

bigphilblackpool
    Free Member

ive done the check and it comes out a a 700 or a 633 in cane creek bin looking but no joy in finding one ? all out of stock

mikewsmith
    Free Member

Do you have the stroke length? I’d give TF/Mojo etc. a call in the morning, they probably don’t sell many at that size but would be the easiest way to probably get you one – or tell you nobody makes one anymore.

bigphilblackpool
    Free Member

its 2.5″ to 2.75″ 222.25 e2e a fox van rc and a big hit dh frame. ive thought ahead and contacted a custom spring maker near me sent pics and asked if they can make a 750 lbs or even a 800lbs like nukeproof used to make

bigphilblackpool
    Free Member

scoured usa forums and some guys even heavier than me have like 900lbs springs in use. i have put weight on recently as been back at gym but hopefully riding again will shed some mass lol

mikewsmith
    Free Member

tf/mojo/loco should be able to give you a quick answer as this is all they do and can probably source something quickly. TF had a 2.5×600 Cane Creek spring.

bigphilblackpool
    Free Member

Im going to ring them today and see what they advise as i dont want it bottoming out like a stiffer ride anyway as im used to hardtails. Are there any coil shocks with lockout?

mikewsmith
    Free Member

big hit dh frame