Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Anyone work from home?
  • JCornford

I have seen a job I like, a little less money but it would be much more interesting than my current one, but it's working from home, does anyone else work from home, I have never done this before, do you miss the interaction etc?

BigEaredBiker
    Free Member

Sometimes, it's a bit of a double edged sword, I can usually crack on and get certain types of work done quickly without the usual office distractions. If my wife is in she sometimes forgets I'm working and just sits and chats.

If you have a room you can make a home office & shut the door I think it would work all the time. If not and it's a laptop at the dining table then probably not.

djglover
    Free Member

I did for 18 months, at first the flexibility was great, but soon the isolation and lack of networking opportunities meant I got sick of it and got an office based job.

CaptainMainwaring
    Free Member

I've been doing it for over 10 years. Wouldn't want to go back to going to an office every day. Mostly don't miss the interaction but then I'm a bit of an antisocial bu**er.

Will only work if you can set yourself up a decent desk in a dedicated office area where you can shut the door and get your head properly into work mode without being disturbed

grumm
    Free Member

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KGg1567fzTY 😛

I do part of my job working from home – it's good an convenient but has it's downsides as mentioned above. Definitely best to have a dedicated work room/area to keep things separate. Wouldn't like to do a job that was entirely working from home personally.

snowslave

I work from home a lot at the moment. Good for flexibility around other stuff, and where I live I can pop out for some nice food/coffee or whatever when I fancy a break. Biggest down side for me is not switching off so easily as when physically leaving the office.

Philby

I work from home almost all the time.