• This topic has 12 replies, 12 voices, and was last updated 10 years ago by jimi.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Any photographers about
  • jimi
    Free Member

Recently got a DSLR and after a bit of practice im starting to like the results im getting. Thinking of going to a few events and getting some photos, was wandering if anyone here has experience of this and if there is any good ways to make a spot of money from it. Ive seen roots and rain but wandering if any one has had success with it?

Also any tips on better photos would be appreciated im still learning and taking a mtb photography course next month

Jimmy

piedidiformaggio
    Free Member

tips on better photos

Practice, practice, practice

Read the manual for the DSLR

Practice, practice, practice

Cougar

Making money from photography is very difficult, as these days everyone and their mother has a dSLR and thinks they’re the next David Bailey. You’ll need full mastery of your camera, a good creative eye and an understanding of what makes a good photo.

Getting the bible might not be a bad start.

bencooper
    Free Member

Millions of people have Microsoft Office, very few of them make money as authors.

Don’t worry about making money at it – if you get good, and get a style of your own, people will find you. Meanwhile practice, experiment, practice, have fun, and practice.

camo16
    Free Member

Getting the bible might not be a bad start.

Or downing a cup of frothy coffee. Either way. 😉

As above really. Loads of practice in different light conditions, landscapes, portraits, close-ups, to get to grip with the features of your dSLR. And be creative.

singletrackstinker
    Free Member

You might be able to make the odd bit of money here and there if you attend events and contact magazines beforehand to see whether they’ve got a photographer there or not.

Generally they give you brief on the sort of images they’re after…