Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Any BT engineers about?
  • cb

home landline has a problem in that the caller hears the ring tone but it never gets answered. That’s because my phone doesn’t ring! Called BT and they asked me to try another handset, which I’ve now done. I can see the incoming number on the panel but again, no ring noise. I can answer and talk to the caller if I know they are there – me in this last case!

A friend has said that he got a BT engineering fault message when he tried earlier in the week. The line test from BT was fine. I’m confused as to why the phones aren’t making a noise!!

Anyone help?

Rubber_Buccaneer

Do you have more than one phone plugged in? The line will only power so many ringers, plug too many phones in and it goes quiet.

I’m not a BT engineer though.

cb

no, only one phone and its worked fine for months…thanks for the try though!

supertacky
    Free Member

Could it be on call divert?

try #21# to remove.

supertacky
    Free Member

Can you make outgoing calls?

If so have you rung a mobile to see that its your line your on?

cb

supertacky – not call divert and yes, making outgoing calls is fine which is why I guess it never dawned on me that there was a problem. Rang the mobile and yes, home number comes up

supertacky
    Free Member

CB, find you main socket. It should have a removable front plate. Unscrew the front plate and plu your phone into the socket that is revealed behind the front one. Try ringing you home phone from mobile.

If it doesnt ring its either you phone thats faulty or there is a line fault.

At this point you can try a proven working phone in the back box and try ringing again.

Still nothing?

Report it to you service provider and get a line fault raised. At least at this point youve proved that nothing in your house is faulty and charges wont apply for the call out.

spooky_b329