Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Another question for the guitarists in the house
  • mactheknife

As i got a great load of replies last time i thought i would ask another question,

I started playing a few months ago and so far its been going extremely well, much better that expected, loads of chords mastered, changes are getting quicker, smoother and more accurate.

But up till now i have been strumming with the edge of my thumb which sounds and feels good. I recently had a couple of lessons and the teacher introduced me to using a plectrum. Now for the life of me i cannot use the bloody thing without the most horrible noise coming from the guitar. Nothing sounds smooth, just harsh. I have tried trailing it a bit like a paintbrush which is fine until the upstroke.

Please tell me it gets better with practise and if so whats the best technique.

Cheers all 😀

toab
    Free Member

Just practice really, make sure you’re using the thinnest plecs you can get to start off with as they’re more flexible and easier to use.

speckledbob
    Free Member

Yes, just practice. Firm but relaxed grip. It will sound a bit harsh compared to your thumb but slow down and try to make a good sound. There are lots of techniques and sounds you can make with a plectrum so it’s important to learn to use it. 0.6mm Jim Dunlop for me. Stiff enough for a nice crisp sound. Good to hear your works paying off and most importantly that your enjoying it. Well done.

mactheknife

Yep i thought it was just a case of practice, practice and more practice.

Cheers for the replies 😀

And yep ablolutely love it so far.

Albanach
    Free Member

Just practice really, make sure you’re using the thinnest plecs you can get to start off with as they’re more flexible and easier to use.

+1

flip
    Free Member