Viewing 27 posts - 1 through 27 (of 27 total)
  • Alu frame with tubeless tires as flexy as a good steel frame?
  • moby
    Free Member

Hi,
    Mtb addicted newbie here, looking to buy first decent ht bike, Ideally a cotic soul due to claimed ride quality but with a budget of £1300 my range is alu bike with tubeless (bird zero, orange crush), which I believe the lower tire pressure will improve ride, will the ride be good as cotic soul? Will it flex/power out of berns like the soul?

If soul will be much better then I’m willing to save and increase budget.

Mo

philjunior
    Free Member

If it’s got the same geometry, IMHO Al will be better (lighter, stiffer). Tyres and seat/seatpost will make all the difference on an HT, but you’ll find you learn to hover over the bumps so it doesn’t matter anyway.

Not sure how the geometry compares of course, it could make a real difference.

rogermoore

There are other steel frames available which might fit your budget:
    Pipedream
    Ragley
    RM.

Northwind

Tyres don’t make the difference imo. Particularily since you can put the same tyres and pressures on a Soul 😉 But that’s not to say an alu wheel can’t do the same job, because it definitely can. But I went from a Soul to a Ragley Mmmbop and I never forgave the Bop for its stiffness.

But it’s all very handwavey, lots of steel bikes don’t deliver the “steel feel” that beardweavers obsess about- basically the heavier it is the more lumpen it tends to be.

I absolutely loved my Soul, it totally deserved the hype… But they’re not cheap and you could build up a fair bit better spec bike around a cheaper frame which could well tip the odds. And tbh if you’ve not ridden one (which I suspect you’ve not?) do you really know if it’s worth dropping £500 on?

chambord
    Free Member