Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Advice required for newbie heavy rider
  • hungryb
    Free Member

Hello all

I’m new to MTB. I want to start exploring the Surrey Hills (not far from me).

I commute regularly but am still rather heavy (almost 16 st).

I intend to try a few demo bikes but aim to buy second hand, so a bit limited in what I can demo. I don’t mean to stir up a FS V HT debate as I would like to try a FS bike.

I suppose that my main question is more about shocks. Is there a shock out there that is better for heavy riders. I would like an effective lock out. If there is a good shock for me, I’ll start looking for bikes that come with them, or just do my own build if need be.

My riding will be leisure riding around Surey Hills. I will not be that aggressive, so I was thinking of a short travel set up based on what I’ve read. But TBH, I have hardy any experience of MTB.

Thanks for your advice

cubemeup
    Free Member

i would look at a 5inch travel bike which you will grow into. im 17st nearly i started with a 100mm FS. i can comment on surry hills as i live in east wales. look at a giant trance cube ams or stereo. im sure you can pick a few 2010 or 2009 bikes online if you have a good look.

DT78
    Free Member

I know you said you didn’t want too….but I would recommend a really nice hardtail rather than a full suss. A properly sorted one is a joy to ride, I’ve got a few bikes and my big bike (6″ nomad) gets very little use, prob once a month at a welsh trail centre and a week in morzine a year. The hardtail is ridden 3-4 times a week.

Hardtail is cheaper and alot less maintance, at 16 stone with regular riding you will need to service your shock annually (you should anyway) and that can add up (50-100 a pop). Once you get the bug and know you love riding get your suspension bike…

Take a look at genesis bikes.

SpokesCycles
    Free Member