Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Advice on making raised beds for veggies please.
  • Bunnyhop

I did ask on the Friday allotment thread but have no answers as yet.

Yesterday we dug up the lawn for 2 more raised beds. I heard a few weeks on 'Gardeners world' that you can turn the turf back over and it'll compost itself below the soil, compost and manure layers. Did I imagine I heard this, or will all the weeds in the lawn start to grow back through?

Last year we just took the whole turf out and dug in the soil.

mucker

Hi Bunnyhop, I'm not a pro gardener or anything, probably more in the ignorant but interested category. However I believe that your premise is correct, in so much as, your covering over the upturned turf with a decent depth of soil (one foot minimum)and you've removed all the pernicious weeds and rank grass from the turf, before inversion. Best of luck 'dig for victory'.

mr_whacky
    Free Member

i did the very same for mine… broke the sod up into small chunks and buried it under other soil and manure… never saw any grass or weeds again 😀

ozzo
    Free Member

Hey mr_whacky sounds like your talking about the father in-law referencing "broke the sod up". Should the police be told about this – they'll turn your garden over? LOL

NZCol

We built a 3mx2.5m bed earlier in the summer. After building the box we were told to do the following (and its worked).

Bottom layer of newspaper – 5cm worth to stop weeds getting through.
    Layer of pea straw 10cm
    Sheep pellets
    Layer of pea straw 10cm
    sheep pellets
    Topsoil/compost/potting mix layer on top 10-15cm.

Or veg has gone nuts this summer and still producing like a beast. Now that its packed down you simply keep adding a layer of pea straw, some sheep pellets and a new layer of soil. All good.

nosherduke996
    Free Member

Any tips on how to keep the bloody cats off !

NZCol

Used teabag soaked in bleach. Seriously. Just do a few and dot them round.

Macavity