Viewing 32 posts - 1 through 32 (of 32 total)
  • A question about a crash and tubeless tyres.
  • thegreatape
    Free Member

Had a funny crash today, over the bars and ended up with a broken finger. During this debacle, and I think as a result of the angle the front wheel was turned to, the front tyre spunked some of its latex out with a corresponding sound of relief. Is this fairly normal if the tyre gets a lot of pressure on the side? I’m new to tubeless, so anything to check for other than put a bit of latex back in the tyre (maybe?). No obvious damage to the rim or sidewall.

While I’m asking, the front tyre, a HR2, wobbles side to side when the wheel spins (did this from new so not a result of crashing today). The wheel is true, and the tyre bead even in the rim as best I can see – going by the uniformity of the hatched bit. Is this common? Tyre fitted wonky or a duff tyre? Back one is fine.

Many thanks.

Pawsy_Bear
    Free Member

Should t have any latex coming out. I’d say they weren’t seated. I assume this isn’t a ghetto setup? Did you pump the tyre up to 40psi and hear it crack into position, then leave it over night before deflating? Somethings not right. I run HR II 2.3 never had that happen. I run the at 20 psi front 22 psi rear.

thegreatape
    Free Member

Came with the bike, I’ve not done anything to them. Didn’t even check the pressures to be honest, they felt about right 🙂

cynic-al
    Free Member

This happens any time the tyre burps IME.

frogstomp

“Burping” can happen with tubeless at lower pressures..

Pawsy_Bear
    Free Member

Not had a HR 2 burp on me. If they did it would mean something’s wrong.

When I fit new tyres I make sure everything’s clean. Old dried latex on rim removed etc
    Slap on tyre and leave small bit open
    Put in two generous cups latex and fully fit tyre
    Spin tyre around to coat the inside
    Pump to 40 psi, you will hear loud crack as it seats fully
    Leave over night