Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 63 total)
  • 2012- A Year In Mountains
  • munrobiker
    Free Member

2012 is drawing to a close and the weather is about to get too bad for more big mountain riding, so it’s time for this year’s installment of “A Year in Mountains” following on from these threads-

http://singletrackworld.com/forum/topic/2011-a-year-in-mountains

http://singletrackworld.com/forum/topic/2010-a-year-in-mountains

Having finished university and got a real job as a geologist I thought this year would be rather mountain-free. On the contrary I’ve somehow managed to cram in more mountains than ever before- turns out having your weekends back opens some doors!

Sadly I’ve also moved back to England which has meant smaller mountains and access laws from medeival times. It wasn’t long til I took the policy of riding where I fancied if the trails looked good enough and as a result although the height gain this year hasn’t been as significant the trails have been as much fun as ever, ranging from really nadgery Lake District footpaths to fast and flowing Alpine singletrack. It’s been a great year for mountains, even with the weather, and I’ve really enjoyed it.

Nan Beild

We started the year with a plan to go over Gatescarth and back up over Nan Beild for one of our team’s birthday. However, a late hungover start courtesy of the White Hart in Bouth and ensuing fry up to chase the grog away meant that by the time we got to the top of Gatescarth there was some bonking and we headed back down Nan Beild pass the easy way, heading south. It’s not the best way to do it but it was a cracking day out and a wonderful way to get warmed up for the year. The southern side of this trail is fun, nothing too hard but still a big mountain feel. It starts rocky and fast before opening up and getting flowy.

Kinder Scout