Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 47 total)
  • 100 days until the Kielder 100
  • Roo
    Free Member

I better up my training.

Obi_Twa
    Free Member

I better start my training.

PhilChap

I better start riding my bike.

Candodavid
    Free Member

wot bike??

Shandy
    Free Member

What is the total climbing involved? Did 1900m in 4.5 hours last weekend and felt alright on it, big question mark for me is fueling because I've never done such a long day before.

miketually
    Free Member

Is that all? Bugger.

miketually
    Free Member

Ride 1 mile today, 2 miles tomorrow, 3 miles on Saturday…

miketually
    Free Member

Or, 1.01 mile today, 2.02 miles tomorrow, 3.03 miles on Saturday, etc.

Then you can take the day before off. Tapering, innit.

twinklydave

Yaaaaaaaay!
    Bring it on 🙂

It'll be awesome

miketually
    Free Member

How long until we can start asking about gearing, tyres, etc?

😉

willj
    Free Member

yeah excited about this too. Skint, so hoping the gears and tyres I've got will last … bit like F1 right?

Roo
    Free Member

A KERS device might be handy though.

I believe there is about 12,000ft of climbing Shandy.

Shandy
    Free Member

4000m then, over that distance isn't too bad. I reckon I can make it round, just worried about pacing for the cut-offs and nutrition/fluids. Might invest in a wingnut, my preferred bike has no bottle mounts.

mogrim

That's about the same distance as the race I did last weekend, easy!

Just hope for all your sakes it isn't 37C like it was here…

Tracker1972
    Free Member

miketually – Member
    How long until we can start asking about gearing, tyres, etc?

Gearing? All of them of course 🙂
    Tyres? Hoping the Jones XR front that came with the bike can go back on if it is dry enough.
    My big question will be how big a bucket of Sudocrem will I need to ease the pain…

Drac

100 miles is a good old slog, not entered but going to pop over for a mingle, beers and heckle.

willj
    Free Member