Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 41 total)
  • Yikes! It’s being built, no turning back now…
  • big_scot_nanny

Tinfoil fatty

Based on the geometry of the XXL Surly ICT which I’ve been riding for 4 years, in either full fat or (mostly) 29+, I really hope I haven’t **** things up too much by designing it myself!

It’s being built now, fingers crossed please everybody 🙂

brant
    Free Member

Certainly LL&S.

Good work.

big_scot_nanny

Thanks Brant, that feels like a reasonable validation 👍

It’s not really that much LLSer than the existing frame, the problem has been that with a 120mm fork the HA rides superbly, but the seat angle gets pushed back to about 70 or less, which makes seated pedalling, especially on steep ups, ‘interesting’ 🤪

So kinda tried to make it all work a bit better.

Bluto is now compeletely dead, mastodon 120mm pro ext ready to go, but with a a-c 20mm even longer then the outgoing bluto, it definitely won’t go on the ICT without some rather detrimental characteristics.

bedmaker

Looks good, that’ll be great fun.
    I did something similar last year. Mines almost identical geo, apart from the HTA which I kept pretty steep at 69 (probably more like 68 with an unsagged 120 Bluto.)
    I experimented with slacker by plugging the fat front onto a couple of other frames, but didn’t like the way it felt.

Here’s mine – I absolutely love this bike!

500 reach (I’m 5″10)
    30mm stem
    450 CS
    75.5 STA
    60 BB drop
    PF46 BB 120 wide
    69 HTA

All put together with the phattest tubing available.

big_scot_nanny

Thanks fella, that looks awesome! Phwoar, getting excited now 😆

My biggest humming and hawing was over BB width. So many bloody variables!

joebristol

How much would this sort of thing cost?

Northwind

Posting just to follow the thread, great stuff here

bedmaker

Joe, my first one was about £850 inc shipping and tax. The fatbike above was my second, which they give a $100 discount on, so ended up under £800.