Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Tips for a jump wuss?
  • timnwild

Having recently discovered a nifty little purpose-built downhill track in the woods near my house, I'd like to start giving it a go. Trouble is, I haven't actually jumped on a bike since I was about 12 years old. The track's a combo of little (2ft or so) mogul-style jumps with flattish landings, and a few wooden tracks with drops on the end. Any tips on techniques – speed, landing etc – would be welcome. I'm not on a full-suss either.

foxyrider
    Free Member

by best single tip for a flat lander is lean back a bit – stops you tipping over frontwards! Astart off small and don't try doubles until your confident you can do one 😉

saladdodger
    Free Member

NHS is great for aftercare 😉

enfht
    Free Member

Close your eyes?

grumm
    Free Member

There's some videos on youtube, and there's the Brian Lopes book with some advice as well. I'm not gonna try and explain cos I'm not very good at it anyway. 🙂

cookeaa

Anywhere good? I presume by “2ft Moguls with flat landings” you mean a 2ft kicker without any real landing, probably rollable, am I right?

If so just ride at them and roll through a few times, you’ll soon find you can go faster and faster just doing this, once you’re comfortable with the terrain and hitting it at speed, then just try letting the brakes off a touch more, putting in the odd pedal stroke and allow the bike to take off, just try to stay balanced (as you would normally on the ground) no need to lean further forwards or back, the whole point of getting the wheels off the ground is that you’re trying to take the “smoothest” most flowing line which happens to be off the ground, the bike will know where it wants to go so don’t fight it, just “guide” it…