Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 48 total)
  • So, I bought some Magped Enduro magnetic pedals….
  • alan1977
    Free Member

Been riding just over a year, now two bikes deep, ride mostly climb and descend trails, local is QECP.
    I have been on flat pedals since i started riding again, and invested in some proper shoes and pedals early on, Shimano shoes, Gussett and Nukeproof pedals.
    Had no real issue with grip, the occasional bad judgement in the air.

Decided it was time to see what clipless was all about and went for a set of Shimano AM7 shoes and xpedo dual sided (spd and platform) pedals
    I’ve had 3 or 4 rides on my hardtail in clips, first few rides i descended on the platform side.
    And recently tried one of my more familiar trails clipped in…
    there was only one section i can remember were i felt clips benefitted.. i had previously been shaken off the pedals (but not completely) in a rooty turn, and being clipped in definitely prevented this, however the rest of the time i actually felt way less planted from not having the large platform under my feet. The only other time i felt the benefit from clips, was spinning up climbs, in an easy gear at higher cadence.. it seemed to be a much nicer experience. Moving hte bike around was a much nicer experience too, but i hadn’t actually really needed (maybe wasn’t used to doing it) on the trails.

So, i wasn’t overly sold on clips so far.
    Now, i’m one ride in on Magpeds…
    setting up was a ball ache, there’s lots of pins to be fitted to the pedals, and the provided Allen key is pony..I went with 2 longer pins front and rear and 2 shorter pins nearer the center front and rear on each side of each pedals.