SewingtrackWorld

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • SewingtrackWorld
  • Tom B

I want to buy my girlfriend a sewing machine for her birthday. She’s really into crafty upcycling kinda stuff, not sure how good at sewing she is, but apparently she did GCSE Textiles 😂

Any advice on what to buy? I’m not sure what she’d be aiming to make, probably soft furnishings?

Bunnyhop

I make soft furnishings for a living and use 3 different types of industrial machine.

My advice would be to buy something of really good quality. If on the other hand she’s just making toys or clothing out of finer fabrics (e.g. not upholstery quality) then most of today’s machines are good.

Premier Icon GrahamS
    Subscriber

Bizarrely I’m currently getting into sewing myself after we picked up a second-hand machine to do some minor repairs. I’ve not touched a sewing machine since a brief Home Economics lesson in school 30-odd years ago, but I’m finding it quite satisfying even though I’m still at the basic zipped pouch/pencil case stage.

Anyways, my advice is look at second hand. We only paid £50 for our Janome 7025, which was in like-new condition and is currently sold in John Lewis for £230!

Since ours was intended for very occasional use we specifically wanted one that tidied away into its own carry-box cover thing.

By the way, I recommend watching thejasonofalltrades on YouTube. He’s a mountain biker and he has some good videos showing how to repair backpacks and make your own. Got me thinking!

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCQ-y2zcVy5TKDYP_4Jobp1A

Tom B

That Janone is the one that I’d seen Graham, a little bit of me feels a bit tight buying her a second hand gift….do you rate that one then?

It’s not second hand. It’s upcycled.

She loves that kinda thing apparently.

Premier Icon GrahamS
    Subscriber

a little bit of me feels a bit tight buying her a second hand gift

Then use the change to buy her something else 🙂

do you rate that one then?