• This topic has 46 replies, 35 voices, and was last updated 13 years ago by TimP.
Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 47 total)
  • One in a million incident or wheelset design flaw (Crank Brothers Content)
  • RV
    Free Member

Saturday I went with a friend for a ride on the North Downs starting at Coldharbour. Within 20 mins on Summer lightening my front wheel picked up a small log that you would never have considered a hazard and jam up the front wheel on the forks, resulting in an instant head to ground meeting at around 18mph. Thankfully the Giro Zen did it’s job and smashed into pieces, saving my skull. Just a bit of whiplash, two broken thumbs and a little face trauma was the conclusion of the incident.
    Now I keep re-running the incident in my head and can’t explain how quickly this non hazard brought an end to my days riding and future weeks. I have had many years of riding experience and been involved in the cycle industry, seeing many nasty incidents but have never experienced the comedy effect of chucking something in you spokes and sending you over the bars. I looked at the bike yesterday, the front tyre blew out and the valve has been snapped off but no other damage at all. I then start to question the new wheels I’ve fitted and only ridden once before. They are a set of Crank Brothers Cobalt’s with a very unique spoke lacing which would allow items to enter the wheel. I previously ran SLR’s and over the years you could see the paint come off the spokes due to impacts with all sorts but the question is, are the cobalt’s more likely to do this again than any other wheel or was it a one in a million incident, unlikely to ever happen again.
    Has anyone ever come across this problem with these wheels, looking for peace of mind really, so that Mojo returns when the thumbs start working again.

backhander
    Free Member

Nice dog.

toys19
    Free Member