Viewing 36 posts - 1 through 36 (of 36 total)
  • Moving to Cornwall from Yorkshire
  • muckytee
    Free Member

So it’s January and I’m planning the year ahead and as I work as a bus mechanic there have been jobs advertised in Cornwall namely Camborne and Truro for a little while now so I’m tempted, I do a lot of sea swimming and I’ve been down to Cornwall and love the place, I’m not a big drinker and 28 years old; however being a tourist is one thing, living another, housing wise I was thinking Redruth? due to it being inexpensive and close to Camborne, I currently live in North Leeds..

One thing bothers me though, from where I live now I can drive to both coasts inside 2 hours and also the lakes, Scotland is also reasonable as is North Wales,I have cities like Manchester for culture and events (music gigs and raves).

On my doorstep there isn’t a lot, but the shear variety of drivable places counts, now sure it’s beautiful in Cornwall but I’m concerned that after a year I’ll want more to life than ‘going down to the beach’

Also my work ethic is a bit full on, unsure how Yorkshire culture compares to Cornish, not sure how I’ll get on with doing it ‘dreckly’

Poopscoop

Just want to say, you lucky bugger!

At 28 give it a year and see what you think.

johnners
    Free Member

from where I live now I can drive to both coasts inside 2 hours

You can do that in Cornwall. Just about…

And if anywhere in Cornwall still has housing you could describe as “inexpensive” it’ll be for a good reason. There are some pretty grim parts of the county you’ll likely never have seen as a tourist.

jam-bo

Learn to surf. That’ll soon sort out your work ethic.

MrOvershoot

I know a chap who moved from Manchester to Cornwall at 30, he worked for BT on the actual lines if that makes any difference.

He’s never regretted it and is 72 now. In fact I’ve just had an invite from him to go riding this summer

johnners
    Free Member