• This topic has 19 replies, 8 voices, and was last updated 12 years ago by Del.
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Light question. Small, like a joystick but with a tight beam. Ideas?
  • wysiwyg
    Free Member

I’m looking for a light ideally self contained. Joystick or slightly bigger but not much more. Must have a tight beam pattern out to 50/60 yds. The less spread the better. Anything off the shelf or a DIY job? I’m new to this lighting dealio. So any help appreciated.

MrGreedy

*Pulls up a chair*

Del

this one’s been recommended as fitting the ‘same size as joystick’ criteria, but a tight beam out to 50-60 yards? that might be a bit subjective/impossible!
    edit: would defo be interested to hear how owners get on with them.
    biccy?

higgo
    Free Member

I’ve got one of those Yezl XMLs winging its way from China to me. My neighbour’s got a Joystick so I can do some beamshot comparisons, although his Joystik is a couple of years old now so not latest generation.

wysiwyg
    Free Member

Cheers for link. Can be slightly bigger than that. Say 8″ long max. Ideally with a remote cable switch compatibilty so the switch can be say 12″ away.

wysiwyg
    Free Member

In fact size isn’t as important as weight tbh. I don’t mind if it’s redbull can sized as long as doesn’t way a ton. Or if it’s a head unit and battery separate as long as cable can be of coiled type.

CountZero

http://www.4sevens.com/product_info.php?products_id=2655
    Not cheap, and certainly not sure about a remote, but as bright as you could possibly want. About 1200 lmn.

CountZero

http://www.dealextreme.com/p/trustfire-r5-a3-cree-xp-e-r5-3-mode-230-lumen-memory-led-flashlight-1-aa-1-14500-39062
    Cheap as chips, $18, very small, very bright, again probably not what you’re looking for, but the neatest, most useful little torch I’ve used. More than bright enough as a bike light around lanes using a Twofish Lockblock.

wysiwyg
    Free Member