Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • It been done before but… Flats or clips
  • crashrash

So I have been riding SPDs for at least 12 years. I have them on all my bikes, I can use them and generally I have no problems. However I did have a big crash last year with dislocated shoulder and it has taken me a while to get the confidence back on my local trails.
    Been wondering if I should try a set of flats on the FS bike to improve my skills and help with the confidence.
    Any thoughts or recommends?

Capt.Kronos
    Free Member

I found them superb for confidence after running SPD for years. To be honest, I wouldn’t be going back to clipped in now!

mikewsmith
    Free Member

to improve my skills and help with the confidence.

Being analytical what skills are you lacking? Will changing pedals work or is the cash better spent on some coaching?

It’s possible to do all of the flat pedal skillz with clips but then you can skip that bit of your tired etc and let the pedals do the work.

flashinthepan
    Free Member

Road Bike: clipped in

Mountain Bike: flats

Using flats gives me much more confidence as I know I can bail easily.

I’ve come from a roadie background and was surprised how much grip good flat pedals provide.

Get a cheap pair and give them a go. Really, what’ve you got to lose?

chr15
    Free Member

The skin on your shins! Don’t be proud, wear shinpads at first, you will save yourself some swearing and have beach-ready pins all summer.

Recommended though to give flats a go. Give them a few rides and some time to get used to – it will likely feel like a massive step backwards at first but with a bit of practice you’ll learn to keep some weight on there and generate lift without pulling up. Then there’ll be no need to go back…!

Northwind