• This topic has 52 replies, 38 voices, and was last updated 9 years ago by AdamW.
Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 53 total)
  • Internet sleuths of STW – impress me….
  • DrP

Righto….
    Despite having involved the 5-0, they don’t seem to be getting anywhere as I suspect I’m not a priority, and the ability to trace numbers is limited..

My family’s been getting nuisance phone calls from a mobile number – they are gaining in frequency and are calling my home number (now ex directory)..

I have a feeling it’s a disgruntled patient as they allude to reporting me to the GMC, stating I’m a terrible doctor etc etc.
    This I don’t doubt…but…calling my family at home is wrong – we’ve a newborn and a toddler..

I can’t tally the number against anything on our practice records, and googling the number doesn’t come up with anything useful – it comes up with this site, which on further googling seems to be a weird random number/name generator, thus I know the person calling isn’t from Medway, Nor called Matilda Cook… 😉

Any other routes of finding a name attached to a number – basically we need it to remove the person from our list for inappropriate behaviour, but thus far they are remaining anonymous….

DrP

mogrim

Isn’t this what the police is for?

wwaswas

If it’s a payg sim the only way to find them will be either associate it with a handset that’s also attached to a known address or work out which phone masts it’s being used from and try and work out an address from those.

Unfortunately, both options aren’t really available to mere mortals.

I think you can buy home handsets that auto block calls from certain numbers. If they go ‘anon’ you can block those too. Might be the easiest solution?

Not a pleasant thing to be happening to you DrP – hope you find a solution.

DrP

I would hope so. But they have told me they can’t really help as they can’t tally the number against anyone on their records.