Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 61 total)
  • Help. I'm so sh*t at mountain biking.
  • rhayter

I’ve been riding since 1989 and except for a few years where finances/injury/laziness got in the way, I’m on one bike or other, most weekends.

But I’ve reached the conclusion that I’m really shit at mountain biking.

I’m just not getting any better; in fact, I’m getting worse. This weekend is a perfect example. Riding round Swinley, feeling pretty confident and strong, I crashed on a mildly technical descent (Red 15) that I’ve cleared a dozen times. I didn’t have enough speed and was thinking about it too much… crash. And at my age, the scrapes and bruises (and earlier in the year, cracked ribs) take longer to heal.

It’s not the bike – I have a really good bike. It’s definitely me.

What do I do? A skills course? Ride the road bike for the rest of the Summer? Or just give up?*

*Not really an option. I love it too much.

SaxonRider

Skills course, without a doubt.

I did this one a few years back, and found it excellent.

mikewsmith
    Free Member

Skills course one on one. Get the decent opinion on what your doing, also your paying for it so be clear about where you are and what you want from it.

Ming the Merciless
    Free Member

Skills day, my riding had stalled, stupid crashes and couldn’t work out why. I did a one 2 one with Jedi and was much better after that.

RoterStern
    Free Member

Unless you haven’t got any riding mates who are better than you to follow down descents then I would suggest a skills course would be the quickest way. It sounds to me like you have a confidence problem which means you are riding stuff way too slowly. The faster you go in most situtaions the more stable you are. There are a few coaches on here who do it professionally.

thestabiliser
    Free Member